JENA - the high-tech hub

Meetings in Jena – friendly charm and strong expertise

Jena Convention Bureau _ Markt 16 _ 07743 Jena _ T + 49 3641 - 49 8333 _ F + 49 3641 - 49 8050
convention@jena.de _ www.jenaconvention.de


Jena is located in the heart of Germany and easily accessible from all directions by bus, train and other forms of transport. Visitors travelling by train arrive in a large green space – the aptly named Paradies Park – on the banks of the Saale river.

Nevertheless, Jena remains very much an insider’s tip as an attractive conference venue, even though it has much to offer when it comes to making the most of meetings. Exceptional event locations – from conference hotels equipped with the latest facilities to venues with a distinctive atmosphere – are located close to each other in the city centre, just like on a university campus. Historical buildings, like the beautiful art nouveau Volksbad or the Volkshaus, built in 1903, are sure to create lasting impressions.

Jena has always been buzzing with ideas. Famous companies like ZEISS, Jenoptik and SCHOTT began their success stories in the friendly university city on the Saale river. With over 150 years of industrial history, Jena is not only regarded as the birthplace of Europe’s optical industry but also renowned as a centre for optics and photonics research. Today the results of light-based research are playing a significant role in addressing key challenges for the future. There are also some useful overlaps with regard to conferences and conventions. These events don’t just draw on the latest research from Jena; the city’s thriving culture of discussing pressing social issues also provides them with stimulating new ideas.

So what is there to do for conference delegates after a hard day’s work? The ideal convention destination should allow you to blow away the cobwebs and recharge your batteries after long hours of in-depth discussions. Jena has a lively, dynamic city centre with a friendly student vibe. The city’s event venues are only a stone’s throw from Wagnergasse, Jena’s main going-out area, and the wide expanse of Paradies Park is ideal for relaxing or a spot of jogging. Whether you’re looking for culture, a good restaurant, or a trip into the scenic countryside to round off your day – all of these options and more are easily accessible in Jena.

JENA - Hochtechnologiezentrum

Tagen in Jena – sympathisches Flair und starke Kompetenzen

Jena Convention Bureau _ Markt 16 _ 07743 Jena _ T + 49 3641 - 49 8333 _ F + 49 3641 - 49 8050
convention@jena.de _ www.jenaconvention.de


Jena liegt mitten im Zentrum Deutschlands. Mit Bus, Bahn und anderen Verkehrsmitteln ist die Lichtstadt aus allen Himmelsrichtungen gut erreichbar. Die Anreise mit der Bahn führt direkt ins Paradies – den großen Landschaftspark an der Saale.

Als attraktiver Tagungsstandort ist Jena jedoch bisher ein Geheimtipp. Dabei wartet die Stadt mit einer Kongresskultur der besonderen Art auf. Wie auf einem Campus liegen außergewöhnliche Tagungsstätten im Stadtzentrum nahe beieinander – von modern ausgestatteten Tagungshotels bis hin zu Locations mit einmaligem Ambiente. Historische Gebäude wie das wunderschöne ehemalige Jugendstilbad Volksbad oder das 1903 erbaute Volkshaus garantieren bleibende Eindrücke.

In Jena sprudeln die Ideen. Weltbekannte Firmen wie ZEISS, Jenoptik und SCHOTT starteten ihre Erfolgsstory in der freundlichen Universitätsstadt an der Saale. Mit über 150 Jahren Industriegeschichte gilt Jena als Wiege der optischen Industrie in Europa und als ein anerkanntes Forschungszentrum auf den Gebieten der Optik und der Photonik. Heute tragen Ergebnisse aus lichtbasierter Forschung wesentlich zur Bewältigung dringender Zukunftsfragen bei. Dabei kommt es zu interessanten Synergieeffekten hinsichtlich der Tagungen und Kongresse. Denn diese profitieren nicht nur von den aktuellen Forschungsergebnissen aus Jena. Auch die hier stets lebendig gehaltene Diskussionskultur über drängende gesellschaftliche Themen lässt neue Denkanstöße wachsen.

Und was können heute Kongressteilnehmer nach getaner Arbeit unternehmen? Nach dem fachlichen Diskurs den Kopf auslüften und neue Energie tanken – auch das macht einen perfekten Tagungsstandort aus. Jenas Innenstadt ist quirlig und lebendig mit sympathisch-studentischem Flair. Von den Veranstaltungsstätten in der Innenstadt ist es nur ein Katzensprung bis in die Wagnergasse, Jenas Ausgehmeile. Der weitläufige Paradiespark bietet sich zum Ausspannen oder für eine Joggingrunde an. Kultur genießen, den Tag in einem guten Restaurant ausklingen lassen oder einen Ausflug in die Natur unternehmen, all dies ist in Jena auf kurzem Weg möglich.